The Division of Nephrology is a key component of the tertiary education program for medicine and related health sciences for the University of British Columbia. Through its active undergraduate, graduate, post-graduate and continuing medical education programs, the Division is responsible for the training of medical students, interns, residents, sub-specialty residents in nephrology, rotating trainees in general medicine, anesthesia and other relevant disciplines, graduate and doctoral students, and clinical and research fellows. These programs attract trainees from across Canada, and from Australia, New Zealand, UK, Europe, Asia and the Middle East. The primary sites for undergraduate and graduate training are at VGH SPH/Providence Healthcare and Fraser Health Authority, with elective opportunities available in other jurisdictions.

Funding for the educational programs of the Division is provided by UBC, through Ministry of Health, and in collaboration with the BCPRA. Education in pharmacy and allied health disciplines occurs in the same sites under the auspices of UBC and related professional bodies.

to top